Skip to content

Photo Day 1: My View From Here

1 February 2012

Day 1 of fat mum slim’s photo challenge: The view of Chicago from my cubicle.

I will admit I spent a good part of the morning trying to figure out the most artsy way to express that my view today is rather wretched. Emotionally speaking, that is. Coming back to this blog, I was reminded how adventurous my life was just four years ago. Difficult, but amazingly adventurous. And now I find myself at the beginning of 2012, at the age of 35, with a second expensive graduate degree under my belt, working at another unpaid job with a fairly definite end date and no other prospects on the horizon.

Then, while I was doing all this internal whinging and whining, I spun around in my ergonomically appropriate office chair and stared out the window behind me, as I often do. At this moment, I reminded myself that, although I might not be halfway around the world right at this second, I am at home with my loving husband and adorable dog. And I do have a job (of sorts) where I can continue to engage in my chosen profession. And I have been incredibly blessed in many ways, beyond what I ever dreamed. And I do live in a beautiful city that is unseasonably warm for February 1st.

And I do have the cubicle with the best view in the office.

Heck yeah.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

