Skip to content

2008 – A Year in Review, Chapter 7: Out Like a Lamb

9 January 2009
tags: ,

[Insert witty time-travel reference here so as to entice geeky sci-fi crowd, thereby increasing blog readership and then somehow seamlessly transition to …]

– November 2008 –

The beginning of November saw Mike and me in London and Scotland for some much-needed married people togetherness time.

On 12 November, I returned home for good … ish. I mean, I have no immediate plans to leave again at this time, but who knows? Next time Mike’s coming with me, though.

I spent a good deal of time in November waking with a start and not knowing where I was, except for the keen awareness that I was cold, so very, very cold. The pace of life and the looming holidays did not give me much time to figure it out, though, and I found myself pretty much in a daze a good eighty percent of the time. If you were one of those people who tried to connect with me back then but were greeted merely with a seemingly cold, unfeeling gaze, please know that it was not you – it was me. Well, maybe it was a little you, depending on who you are.

The Thanksgiving holiday came fast and furious. (Man, do I have a rant about Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift I have to share with you all some time! You can stop your snickering, Mike.) For the first time, Thanksgiving dinner took place at our apartment with my preparing the meal. It all turned out all right, despite some straight-from-a-sitcom-so-where’s-my-laughtrack moments, including my pie crusts completely falling apart, my mother exclaiming, “Who in the world makes cherry pie filling from scratch?” and the leftover buckets and buckets of gravy we’re still swimming in.

Two days later, .we went to Wisconsin to celebrate my grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary (wowza!) and my mom’s birthday. As I put together the slideshow for my mom’s party, it struck me that I come from a long line of awesome ladies. And it was wonderful to spend some time with them again. (And the men too, I guess.)

My parents' wedding - The one question on my mind (besides, what man in his right mind wears a blue ruffled shirt? Just kidding, D.A.D.) is - does Grandma C still have that black clutch and, if so, how can I get it?

My parents' wedding - The one question on my mind (besides, what man in his right mind wears a blue ruffled shirt? Just kidding, D.A.D.) is - does Grandma C still have that black clutch and, if so, how can I get it?

– December 2008 –

Take a deep breath – we’re almost to the end.

In December, my sister Therese and I braved an ice storm and HORRIFIC WINTER WEATHER (that’s a quote from the weatherman, really) to spend three days in Cincinnati seeing three – count ‘em, three! – concerts by the world’s most awesomest band ever, Over the Rhine. Sadly, my other sister Carrie was snowed in by the aforementioned winter weather and could not make the trek with us. We kept her in our hearts, though.

After the Storm - A tree in Indiana encased in ice.

After the Storm - A tree in Indiana encased in ice.

Therese is really, really excited to see Concert #3, this time in an old church with beautiful stained glass windows in a sketchy neighborhood of Cincinnati.

Therese is really, really excited to see Concert #3, this time in an old church with beautiful stained glass windows in a sketchy neighborhood of Cincinnati.

At the end of the month, Christmas took us to Georgia for the first time in three years (cringe…that’s longer than I thought…oops) to spend the holiday with Mike’s family. Within five minutes of seeing our nieces and nephews for the first time in two years, I found myself emulating all those relatives kids hate. “Oh my, look how you’ve grown! Like a weed! Soon you’ll be taller than everyone!” At least I stopped myself from pinching their cheeks or applying lipstick in Crazy-Old-Aunt Red (Revlon Shade #0082/e) and planting a kiss right on their foreheads.

On our way to Georgia, Chili watches the passing farms and plots ways to steal the Christmas ham.

On our way to Georgia, Chili watches the passing farms and plots ways to steal the Christmas ham.

– The End –

And now it’s January 2008. I’m sitting in a coffeeshop, reveling in the free wi-fi. For all the craziness of the past year, I’m right back to where I started fifteen months ago.

And, for all my fighting it, 2008 came to an end. But I’m taking time’s refusal to yield as a challenge to make 2009 another fabulous year.

I’m going to take a break this weekend, but I’ll return on Monday with a few changes to this blog and perhaps more direction. We’ll see. So stay tuned.

Happy New Year, everyone.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

