Skip to content

2008 – A Year in Review, Chapter 6: All Things Must Come to an End

7 January 2009
tags: ,

So yesterday I was apparently sucked into some strange time-vortex and lost 24 hours. Thankfully, the vortex spit me back out right around…

– September 2008 –

In September, I continued my wandering and went south to the tip of India with Ana. During the trip, we met some pretty spectacular kids who taught us how to play some awesome Indian games, such as a version of tag that requires the “it” person to hop on one foot. Plus, here’s the best twist ever – you’re not wearing shoes. And it’s outside. On a packed-earth lot. With rocks. This game reinforces my belief that children truly feel no pain. In fact, pain only comes slowly with age, peaking and plateauing at the age of 30, about the same time as the inability to stay up past 10 p.m. on a Friday night and those horrid hangovers that make your toenails hurt and you wish for death.

My attempt to play the tag game – I lost miserably and was “it” for a long time. Or at least until my ankles gave out, which was about five minutes.

My attempt to play the tag game – I lost miserably and was “it” for a long time. Or at least until my ankles gave out, which was about five minutes.

When we arrived at the school, the kids were lining up for an assembly (at which they made me talk - so not prepared for that). We were in a classroom, and they all stepped all over each other to get a glimpse of us. Now I know how celebrities feel but without all the money.

When we arrived at the school, the kids were lining up for an assembly (at which they made me talk - so not prepared for that). We were in a classroom, and they all stepped all over each other to get a glimpse of us. Now I know how celebrities feel but without all the money.

My little friend S. We met her family AND her goat.

My little friend S. We met her family AND her goat.

In case you can't read the print, it says "Use Me Please." The tragedy is these animals with low self-esteem are all over Tamil Nadu. And all I have to say is, Rabbit, I will not use you; you are worth more than this.

In case you can't read the print, it says "Use Me Please." The tragedy is these animals with low self-esteem are all over Tamil Nadu. And all I have to say is, Rabbit, I will not use you; you are worth more than this.

I also turned 32 in September. So far I like 32. Plus I got to wear a yellow-feathered tiara on my birthday. So, you know, bonus.

My friend P. decorated my desk and provided this fabulous tiara for my birthday. Again, she's awesome.

My friend P. decorated my desk and provided this fabulous tiara for my birthday. Again, she's awesome.

– October 2008 –

October signaled the end of my time in India. The month flew by in a whirl of activity. We had a number of get-togethers, threw a cocktail party in a dry state, and celebrated Diwali with fireworks made with little to no safety standards. My favorite memory from this month, however, is the night some friends joined my flatmates and me for a quiet night at home. We watched Flight of the Conchords for the umpteenth time, ate cheese, drank wine, and enjoyed our favorite music video in various segments at least seven times because that’s how long our DSL took to fully load it. It still amazes me how ridiculously excited some of us got over that video.

My two gorgeous friends in their gorgeous saris at our dry-state cocktail party.

My two gorgeous friends in their gorgeous saris at our dry-state cocktail party.

Enjoying Diwali. Some of us, including me, stayed away from the scary stuff and concentrated on reliving our childhood through sparklers. Scaredy cats. Who needs two eyebrows anyway?

Enjoying Diwali. Some of us, including me, stayed away from the scary stuff and concentrated on reliving our childhood through sparklers. Scaredy cats. Who needs two eyebrows anyway?

Enjoying one last meal with friends at the local mediocre American diner.

Enjoying one last meal with friends at the local mediocre American diner.

Every Friday morning at work, we had a trivia game where teams competed to win a week-long visit with a coconut monkey known as "The Master." My team, although the most spirited, rarely won. On my last day, however, we pulled out all the stops, and, with the help of a special guest visiting from Pakistan, we did it. And by the way, P. and I totally knew there were only four types of penguins on Antartica - we did not just take a wild stab in the dark. Really we didn't.

Every Friday morning at work, we had a trivia game where teams competed to win a week-long visit with a coconut monkey known as "The Master." My team, although the most spirited, rarely won. On my last day, however, we pulled out all the stops, and, with the help of a special guest visiting from Pakistan, we did it. And by the way, P. and I totally knew there were only four types of penguins on Antartica - we did not just take a wild stab in the dark. Really we didn't.

And then my Indian adventure was over. Very early morning 29 October, Flatmate K. and I sat lounging on the floor cushions, watching YouTube videos while I waited for M to show up with the hired car to the airport. While we waited, my last load of laundry (two towels, mind you) caused the washing machine to freak out and catch on fire. After some frenzied searching for baking soda (not readily available in Chennai) to put out this electrical fire, I left my flat in India for the last time. Then, three hours later, I left India.

(Update on washing machine: Apparently, it took nearly two months for Superman to fly in and provide a new washing machine, causing my flatmates to wash everything by hand for a long time. Sorry, ladies!)

Tomorrow: Chapter 7: Out Like a Lamb

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

