Skip to content

Rude (but Cool) Awakening

31 May 2008

So this morning, around 5:45 a.m., while I was enjoying one of my first good night’s sleep since I arrived in India (thanks to my hubby who brought me a foam mattress pad so that I no longer have to sleep on a mattress only slightly more comfortable than my cement floor), I was rudely awakened by drums outside my bedroom window. I was pretty annoyed, as I generally am when awakened before I want to get up (just ask Mike – he’ll show you the scars), and, as the sounds came closer, I fought with my curiosity, wanting to stay in my comfy bed but also wanting to know what all the noise was about. Then when the trumpets started sounding I just couldn’t handle it. I jumped out of bed, stood on the window ledge, peered between the curtains and saw this:

What’s an early morning wedding procession without an elephant with a plastic bag on its neck? Very auspicious. By the way, this was the driveway outside my flat off of a very busy road in the middle of a city of 8 million people. I seriously love India.

My sister has now informed me that she wants an elephant at her wedding. That would be – in one word – completely, utterly, and auspiciously awesome. (Really, that is one word; just ask Tyson Beckford.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    5 June 2008 7:46 pm

    If your sister is having an elephant at her wedding, she’s paying for it herself!

  2. 6 July 2008 10:06 am

    I just now found this site from Facebook. Soooo, you aren’t in Africa anymore? Interesting. Good for you for taking yet another huge risk. If I had a law degree, I’d be tempted to join you 🙂

    And the title should read: Rude and Not Ginger

    Lisa

Trackbacks

  1. 2008 - A Year in Review, Chapter 4: Superman V - The Rise of the Comb-over « Christine Wandering

Leave a Reply

